MILITARY CLOSE COMBAT
Development
of the
Military Sport Art

Military close-combat is the general label for unarmed duel techniques under military operation conditions whose aim is to insure that some soldiers live through the duel and at the same time kill or at least completely disarm the opponent as fast as possible.


In the National People's Army (NPA) of the former German Democratic Republic (GDR) the military close combat was also a trademark for a military sport art. Members of the army trained in the close-combat system during their training and also in training groups during their leisure time. The military sport art Military Close-combat first officially emerged in 1986. It was however the result of decade-long developments.

Before the founding of the NPA in 1956, already in existence, apart from the Police (PP-People's Police) armed units, was the KVP (Kasernierte People's Police). Self-defence was instructed in both authorities like was in the Course book on Judo Self defence, verified in March 1952 by the publishing house for Police Special Literature, Berlin Wilhelmsruh. This self-defence was still characterised by the JIU-JITSU techniques of the pre-war times. It ended the appropriate police task of bringing attackers under control with the hold-down technique or the transport technique.


With the founding of the National People's Army in the former GDR, the close-combat system was taken up in the training programme for the military body-efficiency (MBE) / physical training (P.T). The training was regulated through service regulations (SR), complete instructions (I), and programme and standard catalogue instructions. The demand on the military body-efficiency (MBE) was determined by the SR 010/0/002.
 

Every member of the army graduated after at least 2 hours of close combat with fence machine-pistol (MPi). The Fence MPi was in size and mass an exact imitation of the standard firearm weapon Machine-Pistol Automat Kalaschnikow 1947 (MPi AK-47) and was specially used in the physical training.

 

Soldiers for reconnaissance and long-range reconnaissance, paratroopers and fight swimmers (seals) had more hours of training for the close combat at their disposal after every service course. They also trained in self-defence and unarmed defence from attacks with weapons.

The used techniques from 1956 to 1986 of the old JIU-JITSU to the military close combat changed at the same time. The new system had to be easy to learn, effective, systematic and also have useable equipment in the combat field.

As a basis, people relied on the karate techniques. As a base, the NPA reproduced and supplied books from the West German Karate pioneer, Albrecht Pflüger, who through dark channels procured (e.g. the author also released his first book). In addition people used complex movements from the close combat programme of the Soviet Military Forces (see complex test course). This Karate foundation (punches, blocks, kicks) was combined with selected Judo elements (fall-school, levers, chokes and throws), elements of the shotgun, knife and spade fights and the self-defence. All these were united into one system.

Some officers deserve credit for their long years of hard work that resulted in a military sport:

  1. Lieutenant Colonel Michael Stölzner, chairman of the commission of military close combat for the management of the sport organisation of the land forces and defender of the close combat education.
  2. Lieutenant Colonel Hans-Jörg Tännert, paratrooper officer, instructor at the Officer's High School (OHS) for the land forces, training leader of a close combat trainings group at the OHS Löbau.
  3. Major Dr. Dietmar Kircheis, sport instructor at the Officer's High School for the land forces, JUDO-DAN-Holder, Karate training leader of the close combat training group at the OHS Löbau, consultant for the close combat educational films of the NPA army film studios in Berlin Babelsberg.
  4. Captain Andreas Förster, sport officer in the paratrooper battalion-40.
  5. Captain Holger Arnold, sport officer in the air-storm regiment-40.
  6. Captain Frank Pelny, troop and border reconnaissance officer, author of the "Documentation about the methodical training in Gjogsul" and "Handbook for training leaders in military close combat", contributed to the educational film "Close Combat: How train?".

The techniques and test programme of the military close combat were in 1986 in the "Instruction for exercise, training and contest in the military sport art military close combat", confirmed and published at the military close combat commission of the sport organisation of the land forces. Tgb.-Nr W/48/1986.

The test programme has four graduation levels:
Yellow-, Orange-, Green- and Blue belt. In plan although never realised was the expansion to a brown belt and a black belt.

Frank Pelny was the first person in the GDR to successfully pass the test to the highest level at the time, the blue belt (2nd graduate level). This was on the 21.10.1988 from a commission in the air-storm regiment-40 in LEHNIN.

Every graduate level is tested in five areas:

  1. Athletic test      Duration 3 minutes without a break.
    1 minute hanging from the target wall with the feet (5 points per piece)
    1 minute press ups on the fist knuckles. The feet should be on the third
        lowest bar of the wall bars and the chest must touch the ground during
        the press-ups. (3 points per piece)
    1 minute skipping (from 50. 1 point for each piece)
     
  2. Demonstration ability.
  3. Attach effectiveness.
  4. Defence ability.
  5. Fighting behaviour.
Overview of the test content
  Yellow belt Orange belt Green belt Blue belt
  "Beginner" "Advanced" "Fighter" "Specialist"
justified removal from green belt from green belt from blue belt commission
1. Athletic test. 150 points 200 points 250 points 300 points
2. Demonstration ability.
    complex tests (CT),
    fall training,
    throws
* CT I (1-8)
* CT II (1-8)
* fall training 
  (soft ground)
* CT I
* CT II
* fall training
  (harder ground)
* hip and shoulder
  throws
* CT III * CT IV
3. Attack effectiveness.
   exchange handling with
   subsequent techniques,
   that is to say a combination
   of medicine ball or
   close combat vests.
* Fist punch:
  - At the same side
  - At the mutual side
* Front kick
* 4 fixed
  combinations
  with previous
  illusions.
* 4 fixed
  combinations
* 1 free
  combination
* 4 fixed
  combinations
* 1 free
  combination
4. Defence ability     Defence in a semi
    circle against:
* Knife
* MPi against MPi
* Knife
* MPi-stab
* Fist punches
* Foot kicks
* Chokes
* Spade attacks
* Stick blows
* All defences from
  the orange belt
  in two variations.
  Threats with a
  pistol
* All defences from
  the green belt
  in three variations
* 2 attackers
5. Fighting behaviour.
   Free fights with or
   without protective
   equipment.
Without accessories. * 30 second fight
* Proof of 5 fights
* 1 minute fight
* Proof of 5 fights
* Fight judge
* 2 minutes fight
* Proof of 5 fights
* Fight judge
 

A sporting contest system for the military close combat was created to motivate and improve the fighting behaviour. At the same time there was a contest of three competitions:

  1. The athletic competition    (corresponds to the athletic test)
  2. The technique competition  (single demonstration of a complex test)
  3. The fight       (free fight according to every qualification: 2x1 or 2x2 minutes determined the security equipment and protection vests until the mouth and deep protection).

The close combat vest (CCV-85) was developed especially for the contest and training with the attack technique. The vest has a complete torso protection with neck and additional forearm cuffs. The vest has about 5cm of thick padding and enables the execution of techniques with complete energy.

To improve the existing fight system, the courses on GJOGSUL in the air-storm regiment-40 in LEHNIN, POTSDAM were in 1988 implemented, a secret and fighter-rehearsed close combat system of the North Korean People's Army.
(more information under "History - GJOGSUL")

In analysis, the military close combat system with suitable elements from the fighter-rehearsed GJOGSUL was modified through these course experiences. As a result, the highly effective close combat system emerged and was spread everywhere in the National People's Army and to border troops.

The technical basis of GJOGSUL was through Captain Frank Pelny, a course participant by whom "Documentation about the methodical training in Gjogsul" (Ag 117 XLIII-03-056-89, Tgb.-Nr.: W/50/89, Az.: 57 20 08), detachment of the land forces of the NPA in 1989, described in text and graphically represented.

In the same year, the "Handbook for training leaders in military close combat" (Ag 117 VIII-03/253-89), 1989, committee of the sport organisation of the border troops of the GDR, also from Captain Frank Pelny was released. This pamphlet became an important functioning base for many instructors.

In June 1989, karate was also official in the GDR and made legal among the military forces. Through the political change in November 1989, the practical conversion of this possibility was no longer effective.

The political change and the reunion of the two German states saw the end of the military close combat system, although at this time, a new test programme was in preparation. This programme was technically more extensive and the experiences from the GJOGSUL course and the different currents with in the MCC commission were considered.

A presentation of the military close combat system including gjogsul successfully resulted in the book "Gjogsul - military close combat in the NPA" by Frank Pelny, released in 2005, published by Books on Demand Norderstedt / Germany (ISBN 3-8334-2228-9; 352 Pages; ca. 550 Photos).
(more informations under "SaCO-articles - SaCO-Books")

It must be noted that an training theme under the theme military close combat was produced in the NPA film studio in Berlin-Biesdorf, Frankenholzer-Weg. The film was called "Close Combat: How train?" (Requisitions -Nr. AII/156, 28min., 1983) and "Close Combat for specialists" (28min., 1987). Also in existence was a film on the training of close combat from the Soviet Airborne troops. Still in preparation was an training film on GJOGSUL.

The military close combat was a development of the land forces of the NPA. The air forces / air defence, the people's navy, especially the fight swimmers (seals) as well as the border troops with time took over part or the complete system of the military forces.

The Interior Ministry and the Ministry for Security of the GDR developed a characterised system based on their respective tasks. The system was described in the book "Duel training", (Interior Ministry, 1973, AG 106/290/73)
There were only three graduation levels in this system:
Service belt duel
    - Level III (white-yellow belt),
    - Level II (white-red belt),
    - Level I (white-green belt).
Self-defence as well as transport and determination techniques were exclusively tested.

Militärischer Nahkampf
Entwicklung
der
Militärsportart

Militärischer Nahkampf ist die allgemeine Bezeichnung für waffenlose Zweikampftechniken unter militärischen Einsatzbedingungen, die das Ziel haben, den eigenen Soldaten das Überleben in einem Zweikampf zu ermöglichen und gleichzeitig den Gegner möglichst schnell zu töten oder zumindest vollständig kampfunfähig zu machen.



In der Nationalen Volksarmee (NVA) der ehemaligen Deutschen Demokratischen Republik (DDR) war der Militärische Nahkampf aber auch die Bezeichnung für eine Militärsportart. Armeeangehörige trainierten die Nahkampftechniken in ihrer Ausbildung, aber auch in Übungsgruppen in ihrer Freizeit. Die Militärsportart "Militärischer Nahkampf" entstand offiziell erst 1986, sie war aber das Ergebnis einer jahrzehntelangen Entwicklung.



Bereits vor der Gründung der NVA im Jahre 1956 existierten in der DDR außer der Polizei (VP - Volkspolizei) bewaffnete Einheiten, die KVP (Kasernierte Volkspolizei). In beiden Behörden wurde auch Selbstverteidigung unterrichtet, wie das "Lehrbuch über Judo-Selbstverteidigung" März 1952, Verlag für Polizei-Fachliteratur GmbH, Berlin Wilhelmsruh, belegt. Diese Selbstverteidigung war noch sehr von den JIU-JITSU-Techniken der Vorkriegszeit geprägt und endete entsprechend der polizeilichen Aufgaben mit dem unter Kontrolle bringen des Angreifers durch Festlege- oder Transporttechniken.





Mit dem Aufbau der Nationalen Volksarmee in der ehemaligen DDR wurde natürlich auch Nahkampf in das Ausbildungsprogramm für die Militärische Körperertüchtigung (MKE)/ Physische Ausbildung (PhA) aufgenommen. Die Ausbildung war durch Dienstvorschriften (DV), ergänzende Anleitungen (A), Programme und Normenkataloge geregelt. Die Anforderungen an die Militärische Körperertüchtigung (MKE) waren in der DV 010/0/002 festgelegt.




Jeder Armeeangehörige hatte in seiner Ausbildung mindestens 2 Stunden Nahkampf mit Fecht-MPi zu absolvieren. Die "Fecht-MPi" war eine in Größe und Masse exakte Nachbildung der Standard-Handfeuerwaffe "Maschinenpistole Automat Kalaschnikow 1947" (MPi AK-47) und wurde speziell in der Physischen Ausbildung genutzt.



 

Aufklärer, Fernaufklärer, Fallschirmjäger und Kampfschwimmer hatten je nach Dienstlaufbahn erheblich mehr Ausbildungsstunden für den Nahkampf zur Verfügung und trainierten auch Selbstverteidigung und die waffenlose Abwehr von Angriffen mit Waffen.




Dabei veränderten sich die genutzten Techniken von 1956 bis 1986 vom alten JIU-JITSU zum modernen Militärischen Nahkampf. Das neue System sollte leicht erlernbar, effektiv, systematisiert und auch mit Ausrüstung auf dem Gefechtsfeld anwendbar sein.
Als Basis griff man auf Karate-Techniken zurück. Als Grundlage dienten der NVA hier vor allem Bücher des westdeutschen Karate-Pioniers Albrecht Pflüger, die über dunkle Kanäle beschafft werden konnten und von Enthusiasten, teils sogar handschriftlich, vervielfältigt wurden (z.B. erhielt auch der Autor so sein erstes Karate-Buch). Außerdem nutzte man Bewegungskomplexe aus dem Nahkampfprogramm der Sowjetischen Streitkräfte (siehe Ablauf Prüfungskomplex). Diese Karate-Grundlagen (Stöße, Blöcke, Tritte) wurden kombiniert mit ausgewählten Judo-Elementen (Fallschule, Hebel, Würgen, Würfe), Elementen des Gewehr-, Messer- und Spatenkampfes und der Selbstverteidigung. All dies wurde in einem System vereinigt.


Das aus der jahrelangen Vorarbeit letztlich eine Militärsport entstand, ist besonders auch dem persönlichen Engagement einiger Offiziere zu danken, z.B.:



  1. Oberstleutnant Michael Stölzner, Vorsitzender der Kommission Militärischer Nahkampf der Leitung der Sportorganisation der Landstreitkräfte und engagierter Verfechter der Nahkampfausbildung;
  2. Oberstleutnant Hans-Jörg Tännert, Fallschirmjägeroffizier, Ausbilder an der Offiziershochschule (OHS) der Landstreitkräfte, Übungsleiter einer Nahkampfübungsgruppe an der OHS Löbau;
  3. Major Dr. Dietmar Kircheis, Sportausbilder an der Offiziershochschule (OHS) der Landstreitkräfte, JUDO-DAN-Träger, Karate-Übungsleiter der Nahkampfübungsgruppe an der OHS Löbau, Fachberater für Nahkampf-Ausbildungsfilme des NVA-Armeefilmstudios in Berlin-Babelsberg;
  4. Hauptmann Andreas Förster, Sportoffizier im Fallschirmjägerbataillon-40 (FJB-40);
  5. Hauptmann Holger Arnold, Sportoffizier im Luftsturmregiment-40 (LStR-40);
  6. Hauptmann Frank Pelny, Truppen- und Grenzaufklärer, Autor der "Anleitung über die methodische Ausbildung im Gjogsul" und "Handbuch des Übungsleiters für den Militärischen Nahkampf", Mitwirkender am Ausbildungsfilm "Nahkampf: Wie ausbilden?".

Die Techniken und das Prüfungsprogramm des Militärischen Nahkampfes wurden in der "Anleitung für den Übungs-, Trainigs- und Wettkampfbetrieb in der Militärsportart Militärischer Nahkampf", herausgegeben 1986 von der Kommission Militärischer Nahkampf der Sportorganisation der Landstreitkräfte. Tgb.-Nr.: W/48/1986, festgeschrieben.

Das Prüfungsprogramm bestand aus vier Graduierungsstufen:
Gelb-, Orange-, Grün- und Blaugurt. Eine Erweiterung für Braungurt und einen Schwarzgurt war vorgesehen, wurde aber nie realisiert.

Frank Pelny war der Erste in der DDR, der die Prüfung zum damals höchsten Blaugurt (2. Graduierung) am 21.10.1988 vor einer Kommission im Luftsturmregiment-40 in LEHNIN erfolgreich bestand.

Jede Graduierung wurde in fünf Bereichen geprüft:

  1. Athletiktest     Dauer: 3 Minuten ohne Pause
    1 min.   Anristen an der Sprossenwand   (5 Punkte pro Stück),
                 (Aus dem Streckhang mit den Füßen die Sprossenwand über Kopf berühren)
    1 min.   Liegestütze auf den Faustknöcheln wobei die Füße auf der dritt untersten Sprosse
                 der Sprossenwand aufliegen und die Brust beim Liegestütz den Boden berühren
                 muss   (3 Punkte pro Stück),
    1 min.   Seilspringen   (ab 50 je 1 Punkt pro Stück);
     
  2. Demonstrationsfähigkeit
  3. Angriffswirksamkeit
  4. Verteidigungsfähigkeit
  5. Kampfverhalten
Übersicht über die Prüfungsinhalte
  Gelbgurt Orangegurt Grüngurt Blaugurt
  "Anfänger" "Fortgeschrittener" "Kämpfer" "Spezialist"
Abnahmenberechtigt ab Grüngurt ab Grüngurt ab Blaugurt Kommission
1. Athletiktest 150 Punkte 200 Punkte 250 Punkte 300 Punkte
2. Demonstrationsfähigkeit
    Prüfungskomplexe (PK),
    Fallschule,
    Würfe
* PK I (1-8)
* PK II (1-8)
* Fallschule 
  (weicher Boden)
* PK I
* PK II
* Fallschule
  (harter Boden)
* Hüft- und
  Schulterwurf
* PK III * PK IV
3. Angriffswirksamkeit     Täuschungshandlung mit
    anschließender Technik
    bzw. Kombination auf
    Medizinball oder
    Nahkampfweste
* Fauststoß:
  - gleichseitig
  - gegenseitig
* Vorwärtsfußtritt
* 4 festgelegte
  Kombinationen
  mit vorheriger
  Täuschung
* 4 festgelegte
  Kombinationen
* 1 freie
  Kombination
* 4 festgelegte
  Kombinationen
* 1 freie
  Kombination
4. Verteidigungsfähigkeit     Verteidigung in
    einem Halbkreis gegen:
* Messer
* MPi gegen MPi
* Messer
* MPi-Stiche
* Fauststöße
* Fußtritte
* Würgen
* Spatenangriffe
* Stockschläge
* alle
  Verteidigungen
  aus dem
  Orangegurt
  in zwei Varianten
* Bedrohungen mit
  einer Pistole
* alle
  Verteidigungen
  aus dem
  Grüngurt
  in drei Varianten
* 2 Angreifer
5. Kampfverhalten
   Freikampf mit und
   ohne Schutzausrüstung
ohne Bewertung * 30 Sek. Kampf
* Nachweis von
  5 Kämpfen
* 1 Minute Kampf
* Nachweis von
  5 Kämpfen
* Kampfrichter
* 2 Minuten Kampf
* Nachweis von
  5 Kämpfen
* Kampfrichter
 

Zur Motivation und Verbesserung des Kampfverhaltens wurde auch ein sportliches Wettkampfsystem für den Militärischen Nahkampf geschaffen. Dabei bestand ein Wettkampf aus drei Wettbewerben:

  1. dem Athletikwettbewerb    (entspricht dem Athletiktest);
  2. dem Technikwettbewerb  (Einzelvorführung eines Prüfungskomplexes);
  3. dem Kampf.          (Freikampf je nach Qualifikation: 2x1 oder 2x2 Minuten, festgelegte Sicherheitsausrüstung von Schutzweste bis nur Mund- und Tiefschutz)

Speziell für den Wettkampf, aber auch zum Training der Angriffstechniken, wurde die Nahkampfweste-85 (NKW-85) entwickelt, die aus einem vollständigem Rumpfschutz mit Halsmanschette und zusätzlichen Unterarmmanschetten bestand. Diese Weste besaß eine ca. 5 cm dicke Polsterung und ermöglichte die Ausführung der Techniken mit ganzer Kraft.

Um das bestehende Kampfsystem weiterzuentwickeln und zu verbessern, wurden im Jahre 1988 im Luftsturmregiment-40 in LEHNIN bei POTSDAM Lehrgänge im GJOGSUL durchgeführt, dem geheimen und kampferprobten Nahkampfsystem der nordkoreanischen Volksarmee.
(mehr Info's unter "Geschichte - GJOGSUL")



In Auswertung dieser Lehrgangserfahrungen wurde das System "Militärischer Nahkampf" mit geeigneten Elementen des kampferprobten "GJOGSUL" modifiziert. Als Ergebnis war ein hochwirksames Nahkampfsystem entstanden, welches nun überall in der Nationalen Volksarmee und in den Grenztruppen verbreitet wurde.

Die technische Grundlagen des GJOGSUL wurden durch Hauptmann Frank Pelny, einem Lehrgangsteilnehmer, in der "Dokumentation über die Methodische Ausbildung im Gjogsul" (Ag 117 XLIII-03-056-89, Tgb.-Nr.: W/50/89, Az.: 57 20 08), Kommando der Landstreitkräfte der NVA 1989, textlich beschrieben und bildlich dargestellt.




Im selben Jahr erschien das "Handbuch des Übungsleiters für den militärischen Nahkampf" (Ag 117 VIII-03/253-89), 1989, Komitee der Sportorganisation der Grenztruppen der DDR, ebenfalls von Hauptmann Frank Pelny. Diese Broschüre wurde zu einer wichtigen Arbeitsgrundlage für viele Ausbilder.

Im Juni 1989 wurde dann auch KARATE offiziell in der DDR und ihren Streitkräften gestattet. Durch die politische Wende im November 1989 kam es allerdings nicht mehr zu einer wirksamen praktischen Umsetzung dieser Möglichkeit.

Mit der politischen Wende und der Wiedervereinigung der beiden deutschen Staaten endete die Entwicklung des Systems Militärischer Nahkampf, obwohl zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits ein neues Prüfungsprogramm in Vorbereitung war, welches technisch umfangreicher war und die Erfahrungen der GJOGSUL-Lehrgänge und der verschiedenen Strömungen innerhalb der Kommission MNK berücksichtigte.


Eine Gesamtdarstellung des Systems Militärischer Nahkampf, einschließlich des Gjogsul, erfolgte durch Frank Pelny in dem Buch "Gjogsul - Militärischer Nahkampf in der NVA", erschienen 2005 im Verlag Books on Demand Norderstedt / Germany (ISBN 3-8334-2228-9; 352 Seiten; ca. 550 Fotos und Zeichnungen). (mehr Info's unter "SaCO-Artikel - SaCO-Bücher")

Es muss noch erwähnt werden, dass durch das Filmstudio der NVA in Berlin-Biesdorf, Frankenholzer-Weg, auch Ausbildungsfilme zum Thema Militärischer Nahkampf produziert wurden. Stellvertretend seien hier benannt "Nahkampf: Wie ausbilden?" (Anforderungs-Nr. AII/156, 28min., 1983) und "Nahkampf für Spezialisten" (28min., 1987). Außerdem existierte ein Film über die Nahkampfausbildung der sowjetischen Luftlandetruppen. In Vorbereitung war auch ein Ausbildungsfilm zum GJOGSUL.

Der Militärische Nahkampf war eine Entwicklung der Landstreitkräfte der NVA. Die Luftstreitkräfte/Luftverteidigung, die Volksmarine, insbesondere die Kampfschwimmer, und auch die Grenztruppen übernahmen mit der Zeit Teile oder das komplette System von den Landstreitkräften.

Das Ministerium des Innern (MdI) und das Ministerium für Staatssicherheit (MfS) der DDR hatten aufgrund ihrer anders gearteten Aufgaben ein eigenes Systeme entwickelt, welches im Buch "Zweikampfausbildung" (Ministerium des Innern, 1973, AG 106/290/73) beschrieben wurde.
In diesem System gab es nur drei Graduierungsstufen:
Dienstgürtel - Zweikampf
    - Stufe III (weiß-gelber Gürtel),
    - Stufe II (weiß-roter Gürtel),
    - Stufe I (weiß-grüner Gürtel).
Geprüft wurden ausschließlich Selbstverteidigung sowie Transport- und Festlegetechniken.